Cotswold Houses, Gardens, Villages, Towns & Churches

Cotswold Houses, Gardens, Villages, Towns & Churches

The following are arranged under headings Local, North, South, East or West from Wren House, ie might be part of an expedition in that direction. Places within 30 miles of Stow-on-the-Wold, within 10 miles*.  Please note that many are closed in the winter months and do not open every day in the summer. (NT =  www.nationaltrust.org.uk).

Local

Batsford Arboretum* near Moreton-in-Marsh, www.batsarb.co.uk, GL56 9AB, 01386-701441

Bourton House and Garden* near Moreton-in-Marsh, www.bourtonhouse.com, GL56 9AE, 01386-700754

Broadway Tower* high above the town of Broadway, www.broadwaytower.co.uk, WR12 7LB, 01386-852390

Chastleton House* (NT) nr Moreton-in-Marsh, GL56 0SU, 01608-674981

Hidcote Manor Garden* (NT) nr Chipping Campden, GL55 6LR, 01386-438333

Kiftsgate Court Gardens* www.kiftsgate.co.uk, GL55 6LN, 01386-438777

Sezincote* near Moreton-in-Marsh, www.sezincote.co.uk, GL56 9AW, 01386-700444

Snowshill Manor* (NT), near Broadway, WR12 7JU, 01386-852410

Stanway House & Water Garden, www.stanwayfountain.co.uk, GL54 5PQ, 01386-584688

Sudeley Castle, Winchcombe, www.sudeleycastle.co.uk, GL54 5JD, 01242-602308

North

Charlecote Park (NT) nr Stratford-upon-Avon, CV35 9ER, 01789-470277

Coughton Court and Gardens (NT), www.coughtoncourt.co.uk, B49 5JA, 01789-400777

Compton Verney, near Stratford-upon-Avon, www.comptonverney.org.uk, CV35 9HZ, 01926-645500

Kenilworth Castle, www.english-heritage.org.uk/kenilworth, CV8 1NE, 01926-852078

Lord Leycester Hospital, Warwick, www.lordleycester.com, CV34 4BH, 01926-491422

Ragley Hall, Alcester, www.ragleyhall.com, B49 5NJ, 01789-762090

Shakespeare’s Houses, Stratford-upon-Avon, www.shakespeare.org.uk, CV37 6QW, 01789-204016

Stoneleigh Abbey, Kenilworth, www.stoneleighabbey.org, CV8 2LF, 01926-858535

Warwick Castle, www.warwick-castle.co.uk, CV34 4QU, 0871-265 2000

South

Chedworth Roman Villa (NT) nr Northleach, GL54 3LJ, 01242-890256

Cirencester Parish Church (fine example of wool town church)

Corinium Roman Museum, Cirencester, www.coriniummuseum.co.uk, GL7 2BX, 01285-655611

Kelmscott Manor (William Morris), near Lechlade, www.kelmscottmanor.org.uk, GL7 3HU, 01367-252486

Northleach Parish Church (wool church)

Rodmarton Manor, near Cirencester, www.rodmarton-manor.co.uk, GL7 6PF, 01285-841253

East

Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, www.ashmolean.org, OX1 2PH, 01865-553823

Blenheim Palace, Woodstock, www.blenheimpalace.com, OX20 1PX, 0800-849 6500

Broughton Castle, near Banbury, www.broughtoncastle.com, OX15 5EB, 01295-276070

Oxford Colleges, OX1 3AS, www.visitoxfordandoxfordshire.com, 01865-726871

Rousham House, near Bicester, www.rousham.org, OX25 4QX, 01869-347110

Upton House and Gardens (NT), between Stratford and Banbury, OX15 6HT, 01295-670266

West

Berkeley Castle, near Gloucester, www.berkeley-castle.com, GL13 9BQ, 01453-810332

Gloucester Cathedral, GL1 2LR

Hailes Abbey, near Winchcombe, GL54 5PB – ruin

Hetty Pegler’s Tump, Uley nr Stroud – neolithic barrow – www.english-heritage.org.uk

Owlpen Manor, near Stroud, www.owlpen.com, GL11 5BZ, 01453-860261

Painswick Rococo Garden, www.rococogarden.org.uk, GL6 6TH, 01452-813204

Pershore Abbey

Tewkesbury Abbey

Worcester Cathedral

Comments are closed.